Ogasawara Islands

Ogasawara Islands

Product Description

Ogasawara Islands
The Bonin Islands, known in Japan as the Ogasawara Group are an archipelago of over 30 subtropical and tropical islands, some 1,000 kilometres (540 nmi; 620 mi) directly south of Tokyo, Japan. Administratively, they are part of Ogasawara Municipality (mura) of Ogasawara Subprefecture, Tokyo. The total area of the islands is 73 square kilometres (28 sq mi), with a population of 2440 (2000 on Chichijima, and 440 on Hahajima, the only two inhabited islands). The only inhabited islands of the group are Chichi-jima, the seat of the municipal government, and Haha-jima. includes what is within Ogasawara Village. In Japanese, the archipelago is called Ogasawara Group. By contrast, the term Ogasawara Archipelago, is a wider, collective term for all islands of Ogasawara Municipality, which also includes the Volcano Islands and a few isolated islands. The common English name for Ogasawara Gunto is Bonin Islands, from bunin, an archaic reading of mujin, that means "no people" or "uninhabited."

Japan's Ministry of the Environment and Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries have entered the Ogasawara Islands as a candidate World Heritage Site on the premise that the islands meet the three listed criteria for geology, ecosystems, and biodiversity.

Ogasawara Salt and Iwo Jima Pepper
100% natural salt from Pacific Ocean and Iwo Jima pepper, which only grow in Ogasawara Islands, smallest, hottest pepper in the world